Book it!

image

We are doing a great deal of academic reading this term. Thankfully it’s wonderful and very engaging, but I do miss reading for pleasure. So when I adjusted my passion project to focus on my own wellness and self regulation to help me stay regulated and centred; I decided that reading something frivolous for fun was a part of my self regulation plan.

I don’t know what you like to read, but normally I do read a lot of non-fiction in addition to fiction. For the first week in November I treated myself to a little “nerd-fest”. I am a child of the 80’s and 90’s and I keenly remember the James Cameron movie “The Abyss”. It wasn’t the world’s most incredible movie, but thinking about that movie brings me back to my teens. It is a nostalgic time in my life. When a friend mentioned that the screenplay by James Cameron was adapted into a book by Orson Scott Card; I decided to give it a read. It’s well known that screenplays come from books, and usually when the process is reversed the outcome is a total disaster. This was a bit surprising in that the novel was fair. There was great character development of the central characters, and it enriched my understanding of the story.

The book follows the plot of the movie flawlessly, and adds reasonable details. In particular the NTI’s (non-terrestrial intelligences) are described and given meaning and context.

I’m not a huge fantasy fan, but I’m glad I read “The Abyss”. For me, it was like eating really good meatloaf and mashed potatoes and it allowed me a bit of an escape and brain-break. The truth is; had I not been doing this as my passion project-I honestly feel that I wouldn’t have given myself permission to take the break. In truth, I would have probably tried to work on something else, or have spent more time on social networking sites instead of allowing myself prescribed time to decompress.

I am an introvert, and love to spend time in solitude reading quietly. I’m really thankful for the ability to carve out this ‘me’ time. I need this in my life-especially as the pressures of term increase.

Leave a Reply

