Every dog has his day, and thankfully he shares his with me.

“I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me, they are the role model for being alive.”
~Gilda Radner

Cletus Purcell is a busy dog; almost as busy as I am these days. He works. Cletus trains weekly in search and rescue to help find folks who go missing. Cletus belongs to my mum, and as my brother it is his duty to take me on walks. This photo was taken as we walked at Tower Point in Metchosin. Tower point overlooks Witty’s Lagoon and it was a defensive site that was occupied by local Coast Salish people. You can see the depression in the soil from where the palisade was located at the back of the dwelling site. I love this place.

From this vantage point I can check out all of the harbour seals that make me giggle as they bask safely on an island of rock.

Cletus also loves this place. When I spend time with Clete I get to concentrate on him, and work on his obedience skills. It’s a wonderful thing to enjoy the scenery and make sure his “leave it”, “down”, “stay” and “break” commands are solid-even when there are other dogs and people serving as distraction. Clete is great in the bush and listens well. I always feel safe with him. I know I think I’m in charge, but he probably knows better. With Clete he makes sure I get out and that I remember not to take things too seriously. Life is short and I won’t ever forget our beach times together.

image

Leave a Reply

